Grant Germany

Artproof is happy to announce that during the weekend the exhibition of Artproof Grant Germany winner Freya Copeland was opened.

The work “No Backbiter Bent” is a series of photographs which highlight particular motifs through the application of 1920s-1950s amateur advertising photographic techniques in order to tell a personal narrative of fear and disillusionment.

The exhibition that is a part of EMOP is open in BTK – Hochschule für Gestaltung
Stresemannstrasse 121A, backyard, 1. floor, 10963 Berlin
27 photo series were submitted to the jury.
The following members of the jury came together in August 2016:
Walter Bergmoser, BTK
Michael Biedowicz, Picture Editor ZEIT-Magazin
Matthias Leupold, BTK
Andreas Müller-Pohle, European Month of Photography
Krister Rekkaro, Artproof
The winners:
1st prize: Freya Copeland
2nd prize: Lynn Theisen
3rd prize: Olli-Pekka Lankinen
Honorable mention: Jill Bettendorff
Honorable mention: Aurel Salzer
Exclusively for Photography students of BTK: Artproof Grant Germany
We hereby announce the young photographic artist competition Artproof Grant Germany 2016, which is being awarded for the first time in Germany. The winner of the competition will receive a grant valued at €5.000 for the production of large-format photographic works.
The grant includes the compilation of works for exhibition with professional printing and framing services and transport services for the exhibition itself.
A public exhibition with the winner’s works will take place at the BTK Gallery, Dessauer Str. 3-5 in 10963 Berlin.
The aim of the exhibition is to showcase and promote the work of the young artist, the winner of Artproof Grant Germany 2016. The competition is organized in co-operation with Artproof ( and Berliner Technische Kunsthochschule University of Applied Sciences.
Opening with award presentation
Friday, October 14th 2016 at 7 p.m.
October 17th–30th
Who can apply? 3rd to 7th semester students of the BTK Photography programs (English and German) and BTK Photography Alumnis who finished their BA in the year 2016.
Application deadline is July 15th 2016
Application must contain 5-10 prints in format 20x30cm and an artist statement (half to max. one page A4).
The jury members are:
Walter Bergmoser, BTK
Matthias Leupold, BTK
Andreas Müller-Bohle, Europäischer Monat der Fotografie
Timothy Persons, Director of Gallery Taik Persons
Krister Rekkaro, Artproof